Prof. Matthias Sulzer, Head SCCER FEEB&D, Empa

Matthias Sulzer studied building engineering at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and completed his master’s degree at the Universities of New South Wales and Sydney in 1999. From 2003 to 2017, he was lecturer and professor for Energy and Building Technology at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences. Matthias Sulzer founded Inretis Holding AG with three partners in 2005, which today employs around 650 people in the area of energy & building technology throughout Switzerland. In early 2017, he joined Empa and took over the management of the Swiss Competence Center for Energy Research – Future Energy Efficient Buildings & Districts (SCCER-FEEBD). With lectureships at ETH Zurich and Lucerne University of Applied Sciences, he conveys his knowledge and research findings to students.

Viktor Dorer, Empa

Viktor Dorer has a long record in building energy and ventilation research, acting as project leader and/or principal investigator in many national and international research projects (IEA, EU). Research focused on innovative building energy systems such as integrated cogeneration systems, thermo-active building and passive cooling systems, as well as on the numerical and experimental modelling of urban climate and urban microclimate and related impacts on energy demand and comfort in buildings. Actual research focuses on innovative decentralized urban energy systems with multi-energy grids and energy hubs, integration of local renewable energy systems, storage technologies, and the advancement of related numerical modelling techniques. Since January 2015 he is Head of the Urban Energy System Laboratory. He also lectures at the ETH Zurich and the University of Applied Science Lucerne.

Prof. Dr. Volker Hoffmann, ETHZ

Volker Hoffmann is Professor for Sustainability and Technology and the former Head of the Department of Management, Technology, and Economics of ETH Zurich (2011-2014). Before joining the faculty of ETH Zurich in 2004, he was a project manager at McKinsey & Company where he worked in the chemical and electricity industry. During his career, Volker Hoffmann received several scholarships and awards including a German National Academic Foundation Scholarship (1994-97), an Ernest-Solvay-Scholarship (1996/97), and an Exchange Fellow Scholarship of the Alliance for Global Sustainability (1999/2000). His research at ETH Zurich centers on corporate strategies with respect to climate change, with a focus on climate policy, energy policy, and innovation.

Dr. Pierre Hollmuller, UNIGE

Pierre Hollmuller holds a physics degree from the Université de Genève, a master of advanced studies in energy, economic option from EPFL and since 2002 a PhD of Science from the Université de Genève. Since 2010 he is research associate and lecturer in the Groupe Energie, Institut Forel / Institut des Sciences de l’Environnement at the Université de Genève. Pierre Hollmuller has research and teaching activities in the area of energy efficiency and innovative energy systems, mainly in the built environment. He tightly collaborates with academics from diverse disciplines, as well as with diverse players and stake holders of the energy market, from private and public sectors.

Prof. Dr. John Lygeros, ETHZ

John Lygeros is Professor for Computation and Control at the Automatic Control Laboratory at ETH Zurich and the Head of the laboratory. His research interests include modeling, analysis, and control of hierarchical hybrid systems, with applications to biochemical networks, large-scale systems such as power networks, surveillance systems and air traffic management. John Lygeros is a Fellow of the IEEE, and a member of the IET and the Technical Chamber of Greece. He is currently serving in the IEEE Board of Governors, the Scientific Steering Committee of the Newton Institute, and as the treasurer of the International Federation of Automatic Control.

Prof. Dr. Jean-Louis Scartezzini, EPFL

Jean-Louis Scartezzini is director of the Solar Energy and Building Physics Laboratory (LESO-PB) of the EPFL and Professor in Building Physics. His scientific research is dedicated to sustainability in the built environment, with a special focus on advanced daylighting systems and green lighting. He is the author of more than 200 scientific publications and member of several federal commissions and international work groups as well as associate editor of Solar Energy Journal and the International Journal of Building Physics.

Prof. Dr. Arno Schlüter, ETHZ

Arno Schlüter received his diploma in architecture at Technische Universität Karlsruhe, Germany in 2003. He continued his education at ETH Zurich, pursuing postgraduate studies in Computer Aided Architectural Design and his dissertation in the fields of information technology and sustainable building systems as a researcher at the Building Systems Group. To apply the research in real-life building projects he co-founded the ETH CleanTech Spinoff keoto AG in 2009, where he is currently head of the management board. In 2014 he was appointed Full Professor of Architecture & Sustainable Building Technologies at the Institute of Technology in Architecture (ITA), ETH Zurich.

Prof. Dr. Andrea Weber Marin, HSLU

Andrea Weber Marin studied environmental sciences at the ETH Zurich and received a doctorate at ETH in the field of management and manufacturing science. After working for CIBA Basel and at the Institute for Manufacturing Automation at ETH Zurich she became lecturer at the University of Lucerne in 2004. From 2006 to 2011 she led the professional training at the School of Engineering and Architecture. In 2009 Andrea Weber Marin became Vice Dean of the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts. Since 2011 she is head of research. She is on the board of the Sustainable Engineering Network, the Swiss Competence Centers for Energy Research and member of municipal energy commissions and the Swiss Texnet.

Prof. Dr. Philipp Rudolf von Rohr, Head SCCER EIP, ETHZ

Philipp Rudolf von Rohr is professor for process engineering at ETH Zurich since 1992. He has extensive experience as leader in different fields, for example as head of a chemical plant producer (1989-1992), department head of D-MAVT (1999-2001), research council at SNF since 2010 and expert at CTI since 2008. Already during his PhD he started with energy efficiency investigations by optimizing a cooling cycle in industry. His research is focused on transport phenomena of heat and mass transfer. Main achievements are continuous and energy efficient processing in different fields of application. Currently, new process routes are investigated for carbon dioxide hydrogenation and for wood pre-treatment to valorise the production of monomers and biofuel.